News & Events

  • Professor Wilkins joined Dartmouth from the University of Minnesota where he took a leave of absence as professor and chair of the American Indian Studies department.  He is an expert in comparative politics, American political theory, Federal Indian policy, tribal governance and the history of colonialism and Native peoples.  He has published eight books since 1987. While at Dartmouth he taught two courses Fall, 2005: "Native Americans and the Law" and "Native American Treaties."

  • The first Dartmouth Tribal Scholar was Charles Redcorn, a member of the Tzi-zhu-wah-shta-gi Clan of the Osage Tribe, who spent his time in residence writing a novel. Mr. Redcorn's first novel, A Pipe for February, was published by the University of Oklahoma Press in 2000.

  • Randy Akee (2004-2005) - (Native Hawaiian),received his PhD from Harvard University in Political Economy and Government. His dissertation is titled: "Three Essays in Economic Development of Indigenous Peoples. Randy is now an Assistant Professor of Public Policy at UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs. In June 2013 was named to the U.S. Census Bureau's National Advisory Committee on Racial, Ethnic, and Other Populations.

  • Andrea Marlene B. Abeita (Navajo). Andrea graduated Dartmouth with a major in Native American Studies.  She was awarded the writing prize for her spring term 2004 Independent Research project and resulting paper: "Stories, Oral and Written: A Native Perspective."

  • Marie Kainoa Fialkowski (Native Hawaiian) was awarded the writing prize for her NAS 85 Independent Study project and resulting paper: "Healing Journey from 'Sugar:' Native Empowerment Through Health."

  • Professor O'Brien joined us from the University of Southern Mississippi, where he taught many courses in American History, but his focus of research has been on Southeastern Indians. His first book entitled "Choctaws in a Revolutionary Age, 1750-1830" (University of Nebraska Press) was published in 2002. He has also published essays is many scholarly journals. He taught two courses during the fall of 2004: "The Invasion of America: American Indian History, Pre-contact to 1830", and "The...

  • Angelica Lawson (2003-2004) - (Northern Arapaho), completed her Ph.D at the University of Arizona, Tucson. The title of her dissertation is: "Resistance and Resilience in the Work of Four Native American Authors." Prof. Lawson was also a visiting instructor at Dartmouth, and taught a course in NAS for the Fall, 2003 term: "American Indians on Film and Television." She is now an Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, specializing in American Indian Film and...

  • Aja Kateri DeCoteau (Yakama / Chippewa). Aja was awarded the prize for her senior thesis:  "Nch'I-N-usux W'anapa (Salmon in the Big River): Salmon and their Keepers Along the Columbia  River."

  • Veronica Elizabeth Pipestem (Osage) was awarded the writing prize for her senior English project: "Fleur and the Manitous."

  • Audra Simpson (2002-2003) - (Mohawk), completed her Ph.D. in Anthropology from McGill University, then went to teach at Cornell University, where she was awarded a post-doctoral fellowship. Audra moved to Columbia University in 2008, where she is currently an Assistant Professor of anthropology. She is a Katrin H. Lamon Resident Scholar 2008 - 2009 at SAR, and she has a recent book soon to be published titled, Mohawk Interruptus.